Our Calling

Matthew 28:19-20

“Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

What a privilege it is to speak words that came forth from the mouth of God. Something we are not even worthy of. But to be chosen to speak the word of God, what a blessing it is. Are we doing it as much as we could or should? I don’t think so. When I read the word and I see how dedicated Jesus disciples were. It’s like they ate, slept and breathed the word of God. They were truly Holy Spirit filled, healing in the name of Jesus. Do we not have the same Holy Spirit? Did the name of Jesus become any less powerful? NO! The Spirit has never changed. What changed was the desire, the wanting, the need of speaking life. The fear of God has diminished. We aren’t as worried about the coming of Christ as we should be. Are we not living in the end times? I feel like the power of the Holy Spirit should be seen now more than ever as we get closer and closer to the return of our savior Jesus Christ. The disciples spent every waking moment working for Christ. They didn’t care if they ate, if they had clothes to wear or money they went where they were led in full dependence on the Lord. Where has that dependence gone? Why is it that we feel as if we can’t do something unless we are completely satisfied and comfortable with our surroundings first?

Thinking back on how uncomfortable the disciples of Christ must have been. And knowing how they would be beaten and imprisoned and eventually killed for their faith and it still didn’t stop them! How selfish are we? And I include myself in this. Whenever I feel the Holy Spirit telling me to speak the word in public I think about it for a second, I get nervous which is ok. But why do I have to even have to think about it? Where is the obedience, the hunger to spread the Gospel? Why should I even have to wait until God gives me a nudge to get up and preach? I should be filled with so much fire for Christ that I want to take advantage of every opportunity to speak His word. I’m desperately waiting for God to come back and I know He is waiting until every one has heard the name of Jesus, which should give me an even bigger desire to spread the Gospel. Matthew 24:14 “And this gospel of the kingdom shall be preached in all the world for a witness unto all nations; and then shall the end come.”  

So is time to get it together, get over the fear of public speaking. To seek God for courage and guidance and to just speak His word in any way we can. Not only with our lips but with our lives. To be examples of Christ at all times of our day. To be that light in this dark world and people will be drawn to Him. God has chosen us and set us apart for this Leviticus 20:26 Thus you are to be holy to Me, for I the LORD am holy; and I have set you apart from the people’s to be Mine.” Preaching the word of God is a privilege and a great responsibility we should not take advantage of. More now than ever do we have to stand up and speak for our God. We were not saved to be silent. But to be used so that others can see what God has done in our lives and seek Him for salvation. Not by our own human effort will souls be saved but by the grace of God and the power of the Holy Spirit. Ephesians 2:8  “For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God”  It’s time to give the gift of salvation, unashamed and unafraid. Walking in the footprints of our ancestors and putting the desire of doing Gods will before anything else.

Psalms 40:8  “I delight to do thy will, O my God: yea, thy law is within my heart.”

Leave a Reply

